Each motor vehicle on Kansas roads and highways must display a valid registration plate or 60-day temporary tag. License tags expire on a staggered basis, based on the first letter of the owner's last name. Vehicle registration expires on the last day of the month and there is no grace period for enforcement purposes.
Upon selling or trading a vehicle, the seller retains his/her Kansas registration plate. If purchasing another vehicle to replace the vehicle that was traded or sold, he/she may place the registration plate on the new vehicle and transfer the registration through the county treasurer within 60 days.
Each motor vehicle on Kansas roads and highways must have a valid liability insurance policy. Upon being stopped by a law enforcement officer, the driver must produce written proof that a current liability insurance policy exists. Failing to maintain liability insurance may result in a minimum fine of $300 and a 1year suspension of driving privileges.